# NEFDB Phase 4 Waste & Water — Deep-Web Academic/Report Hunt Report

**Date:** 2026-06-19  
**Agent:** deep-web academic/report scraper  
**Project path:** `C:\Users\HP\palmgrove\NEFDB`  
**Scope:** additional Nigeria-specific data to reduce reliance on IPCC defaults for Factor IDs `ng.waste.*` and `ng.water.*`.

## 1. Methods

- Targeted web/exa searches for each priority topic.
- Open-access PDF downloads from AJOL, Global Journals, Science Publishing Group, EJOL, IIARD, journal.gnest.org, Scholaris (Toronto), Juniper Publishers, MDPI, ESI-Africa.
- Full-text PDF extraction with `pdfplumber` for locally saved documents.
- HTML fetches where PDFs were unavailable or abstracts sufficient.
- Only public/open-access sources used; paywalled papers are noted as abstracts only.

## 2. Files saved

All newly acquired full texts live in `docs/waste_water/supplement/`:

| File | Source | Type |
|------|--------|------|
| `kano_msw_composition_afuno_rabiu_2017.pdf/.md` | Afuno & Rabiu, Bayero J. Pure Appl. Sci. 10(1):493-497 | MSW composition, Kano |
| `abuja_msw_characterization_abur_2014.pdf/.md` | Abur et al., Global J. Sci. Frontier Res. 14(2) | MSW composition, Abuja |
| `rivers_state_msw_composition_port_harcourt.pdf/.md` | Global Science Research Journals, Rivers State | MSW composition, Port Harcourt & LGAs |
| `nigeria_multi_city_swm_thesis_scholaris.pdf/.md` | University of Toronto Scholaris (PhD thesis) | Multi-city Nigerian SWM comparison |
| `epe_olusosun_air_quality_2024.pdf/.md` | Okafor et al., J. Agric. Environ. Sci. 9(1) 2024 | Measured ambient CO₂/CH₄/NOx at Lagos dumpsites |
| `kaduna_textile_effluents_yusuff.pdf/.md` | Yusuff & Sonibare, J. Gnest | Textile wastewater characteristics, Kaduna |
| `uyo_brewery_effluent_2020.pdf/.md` | IIARD J. Agric. Earth Sci. 2020 | Brewery wastewater characteristics, Uyo |

Additional HTML/markdown captures retained as sources only:

- Wupa WWTP seasonal efficiency (SciencePG 2021, open access HTML).
- Chukwu & Oranu 2018 Wupa biological-treatment performance (NIJEST PDF extracted via exa fetch).
- Kayode et al. 2018 MDPI — food & beverage industrial wastewater enabling conditions in Nigeria.
- Juniper 2019 — Kube-Atenda, Ibadan open-burning GHG estimates.
- ESI-Africa 2024 — Abuja Lower Usuma Dam WTP BESS/energy project note.

Existing sources already present in `docs/waste_water/` (not duplicated):

- Lagos MSW composition (Procedia 2017, AHK 2023)
- Lagos open-burning factsheet + Environ 2022 open-burning study
- Port Harcourt FSM report, Oke-Afa WWTP study
- WASHNORM/JMP reports, Lagos water book
- HydroWASTE, IPCC Waste Model FOD
- Nigeria BUR2, NIR1

## 3. Findings by topic

### 3.1 MSW composition beyond Lagos

| City / source | Generation kg/cap/day | Organic/food % | Plastic % | Paper % | Other notable |
|---------------|----------------------|----------------|-----------|---------|---------------|
| **Kano** (Afuno & Rabiu 2017) | 0.56 | Organics (dry) 14.4 | Light plastic 17.3, heavy plastic 8.3 | 5.4 | Fabric 7.8, metal 4.1, glass 3.8, bone 2.9 |
| **Abuja households** (Adama et al. 2013, SciDirect) | 0.634 (bulk density 240 kg/m³) | Organic 63.6 | 8.7 | 9.7 | Metal 3.2, glass 2.6, textile 1.6, others 10.6 |
| **Abuja AMAC/Bwari** (Fortune Journals 2020) | — | Food/organics 40–85 | 16–21 | 7–13 (dry higher) | Other categories in abstract/tables |
| **Abuja** (Abur et al. 2014) | 0.59–0.79 | Food 56.2 (wet) / 52.0 (dry) | 7.4 | 10.0 | Rubber 10.2(w)/3.6(d), glass/ceramics 7.6/1.4, metals 2.6/0.7 |
| **Port Harcourt LGA** (Rivers State study) | 1.16 | Organic 59 | 14 | 6 | Nylon 14 |
| **Obio/Akpor** (Rivers State) | 0.98 | Organic 65.5 | 16 | 11 | Nylon 16 |
| **Emuoha** (Rivers State) | 0.45 | Organic 65 | 12 | 13 | Nylon 12 |
| **Multi-city summary** (Scholaris thesis) | Lagos 0.63, Kano 0.56, Ibadan 0.51, Kaduna 0.58, PH 0.60, Onitsha 0.53, Nsukka 0.44, Abuja 0.45–0.74 | Nigeria-wide: >50 % organic in most cities | — | — | — |

**Confidence:** Medium. Multiple independent city-level studies exist; wet vs. dry basis, seasonal variation, and unclassified "others" create uncertainty.

### 3.2 Landfill gas / methane parameters at Nigerian dumpsites

| Parameter | Value | Site / note | Source |
|-----------|-------|-------------|--------|
| MCF | 0.4 | Lagos SWDS (managed but shallow/deep unmanaged transition); used in FOD Tier 1 2020 | Scientific Reports 2022 (`s41598-022-22923-5`) |
| MCF | 0.8 | Olushosun, unmanaged deep landfill | Aboyade/NJT studies |
| DOC (wet season) | 12.547 Gg C / kg waste | 4 Lagos SWDS | Scientific Reports 2022 |
| DOC (dry season) | 12.897 Gg C / kg waste | 4 Lagos SWDS | Scientific Reports 2022 |
| DOCf | 0.5 | Lagos SWDS Tier 1 2020 | Scientific Reports 2022 |
| DOC | 0.19 | Olushosun | Aboyade/NJT |
| DOCf | 0.77 | Olushosun (35 °C assumption) | Aboyade/NJT |
| L₀ | 76.36 m³/tonne | Olushosun | NJT |
| k | 0.24 yr⁻¹ | Olushosun | NJT |
| L₀ | ~150 m³/Mg | Olusosun (conservative) | Lumes thesis |
| k | 0.05 yr⁻¹ | Olusosun (IPCC default used) | Lumes thesis |
| CH₄ generated | Dry season 0.134 Gg; wet season 0.331 Gg higher | 4 Lagos SWDS, inventory year 2020 | Scientific Reports 2022 |
| Measured ambient CH₄ | 0–24 ppm (Epe), up to 146 ppm (Olusosun) | October 2022, 10 am–1 pm | Okafor et al. 2024 |
| Measured ambient CO₂ | 768.5–810 ppm (Epe morning); 790–1,094 ppm (Olusosun) | Same campaign | Okafor et al. 2024 |
| Measured ambient NOx | 0.0–0.017 ppm (Epe), 0.003–0.017 ppm (Olusosun) | Below 0.04–0.06 ppm standard | Okafor et al. 2024 |

**Confidence:** Low–Medium for MCF/DOC/k (only a few site-specific derivations); Low for measured ambient concentrations (snapshot campaign, not annualised emission factors).

### 3.3 Open burning of MSW

| Parameter | Value | Unit | Source |
|-----------|-------|------|--------|
| Fraction of MSW open-burned | 14.7 | % of total generated | Okafor et al. 2022 (`Environ-09-02-11`) |
| Oxidation / burning efficiency | 0.58 | fraction | Okafor et al. 2022 |
| Combustible fraction | 80.6 | % | Okafor et al. 2022 |
| Fossil carbon in MSW | 14.3 | % | Okafor et al. 2022 |
| CO₂ emissions | 284.2–426.3 | kt/yr | Okafor et al. 2022 |
| CH₄ emissions (as CO₂-eq) | 403–604.6 | kt CO₂-eq/yr | Okafor et al. 2022 |
| Implied CH₄ mass | ~14.4–21.6 | Gg CH₄/yr | Derived using GWP-28 |
| Implied CH₄ EF | ~5.8–6.0 | kg CH₄ / t waste burned | Derived (matches IPCC/EIIP default of ~6.5) |
| N₂O emissions (as CO₂-eq) | 110.9–166.3 | kt CO₂-eq/yr | Okafor et al. 2022 |
| Implied N₂O mass | 0.419–0.628 | Gg N₂O/yr | Derived using GWP-265 |
| Implied N₂O EF | ~0.17–0.18 | kg N₂O / t waste burned | Derived (close to IPCC 0.15) |
| Ibadan Kube-Atenda burned | 0.052 | Gg wet MSW/yr | Hammed & Sridhar 2019 (Juniper) |
| Per-capita waste generation (Kube-Atenda) | 0.068 | kg/cap/day | Hammed & Sridhar 2019 |
| Fraction burned (Bfrac) | 0.60 | fraction (IPCC default) | Hammed & Sridhar 2019 |
| CH₄ EF applied | 6.5 | kg CH₄ / t waste (EIIP 2001) | Hammed & Sridhar 2019 |
| N₂O EF applied | 150 | g N₂O / t waste (IPCC 2006) | Hammed & Sridhar 2019 |

**Confidence:** Medium for national totals (Okafor uses IPCC defaults + NBS urban-population data); Low for community-level Ibadan estimate (single small community, default parameters).

### 3.4 Domestic wastewater BOD/COD and treatment fractions

| Source | Influent BOD mg/L | Influent COD mg/L | Removal BOD % | Removal COD % | Treatment type / notes |
|--------|-------------------|-------------------|---------------|---------------|------------------------|
| Wupa, Abuja (Chukwu & Oranu 2018) | ~250 (effluent 2.75, removal 98.9%) | ~130 (effluent 24, removal 81.5%) | 98.9 | 81.5 | Activated sludge + UV; design 700,000 PE, dry flow 5,500 m³/h |
| Wupa, Abuja (Iheukwumere et al. 2021) | — | — | 84.6–97.2 | 85.4–95.7 | 2015–2018 operational data |
| Warri estate (JCSN) | 163.7–220.7 | 286.2–355.6 | — | — | Domestic sewage, conventional CSS |
| University of Lagos (Longe & Ogundipe 2010) | — | — | 73 (wet), 54 (dry) | 65.8 (wet), 39 (dry) | Campus WWTP |
| Oke-Afa WWTP, Lagos | — | — | — | — | Already in project files |

**Treatment capacity / coverage:**
- Wupa: 700,000 PE design, expandable to 1,000,000 PE; dry inflow 5,500 m³/h (≈132,000 m³/day), wet inflow 9,000 m³/h.
- Abuja AMAC: 15 small WWTPs, installed 900,000 L/day PE, only 230,000 L/day PE utilised → 29.5 % treated, 70.5 % untreated (Bature 2022, AJGS).

**Confidence:** Medium for Wupa removal efficiencies (multiple years/studies); Low for influent concentration estimates (derived from removal + effluent); Low for city-wide treatment fractions (fragmented data).

### 3.5 Industrial wastewater BOD/COD characteristics

| Sector / location | BOD mg/L | COD mg/L | Notes |
|-------------------|----------|----------|-------|
| Textiles, Kaduna (Yusuff & Sonibare) | 163–645 | 1,067–2,430 | 5 mills; flow 10,900–35,000 m³/day; TSS up to 1,200 mg/L |
| Textiles, Lagos (JCSN) | 584–885 | 2,012–2,984 | 2 industries |
| Textiles, Northern Nigeria (statistical) | mean 1,593 | mean 6,478 | 6 mills; also mean TKN 13.9 mg/L, TP 7.8 mg/L |
| Food & beverages, Kaduna (academia summary) | 108–525 | 710–1,650 | Includes bakeries, beverage plants |
| Brewery, Uyo (IIARD 2020) raw | 1,000–1,500 | 1,800–3,000 | Text gives raw-industry typical ranges |
| Brewery, Uyo treated ponds | 23.6–50.3 | 32.3–82.1 | Pond effluent (wet vs dry), still above FMENV BOD limit (10) |
| Petrochemicals, Kaduna | 3–51 | 87–635 | Low BOD relative to COD |
| Bakery, Benin City (J. Eng. 2023) | — | 1,058.34 | COD non-compliant |
| Vehicle assembly, Kaduna | High TSS | — | Not COD/BOD focused |

**Confidence:** Medium for Kaduna textile ranges (clear tables, multiple mills); Low for Port Harcourt brewery (reported BOD/COD values of 7–11.6 appear anomalous, likely transcribed incorrectly).

### 3.6 Water / wastewater treatment energy intensity

| Source | Parameter | Value | Notes |
|--------|-----------|-------|-------|
| Lower Usuma Dam WTP, Abuja (ESI-Africa 2024; Water-Technology 2014) | Capacity | 720,000 m³/day | Phases 1–4 combined; 540 kWh BESS + 500 kVA + 1 MWp PV |
| Lower Usuma Dam WTP | Specific energy | **Not reported** | No kWh/m³ found in open sources |
| Wupa STP, Abuja | Specific energy | **Not reported** | No electricity-consumption data found |
| General WWTP review (MDPI 2023) | Typical | 0.5–2.0 kWh/m³ | International benchmark, not Nigeria-specific |
| Global benchmarking (PubMed) | EU average | 1.18 kWh/m³ | Reference only |

**Confidence:** Low for Nigeria-specific energy intensity — no utility-reported kWh/m³ data located for Lagos Water Corporation, PH Water Corporation, Abuja (Wupa/Lower Usuma), or Oke-Afa. Gap remains.

## 4. Gaps still outstanding

- **Electricity consumption / specific energy intensity** for Nigerian water-treatment and wastewater-treatment plants. No utility-specific kWh/m³ data found.
- **Measured landfill oxidation factor (OX)** for Nigerian sites — all studies use IPCC default OX = 0.
- **Long-term seasonal oxidation factor** for open burning of MSW; studies rely on IPCC defaults.
- **Industrial sector-specific wastewater generation rates** (m³/tonne product or m³/day) beyond Kaduna textile flows.
- **Measured BOD/COD for oil & gas produced water** and tanneries in Nigeria.
- **City-level treatment fractions** for Lagos/Port Harcourt/Kano/Ibadan domestic wastewater beyond Abuja.

## 5. Key extracted numbers feedable to the factor calculator

A machine-readable CSV is provided at:

`datasets/waste_water/derived/nigeria_waste_water_supplement.csv`

Columns: `parameter`, `value`, `unit`, `source`, `url_or_path`, `confidence`, `note`.

## 6. Deliverables checklist

- [x] Searched open web for all six priority topics.
- [x] Avoided duplicating existing `docs/waste_water/` sources.
- [x] Saved full-text PDF/markdown for new sources in `docs/waste_water/supplement/`.
- [x] Created one summary markdown per useful new source (see `*_summary.md` files).
- [x] Created `datasets/waste_water/derived/nigeria_waste_water_supplement.csv`.
- [x] Documented source, confidence, and remaining gaps.
